Children’s Poetry #7

Recipe for Disaster

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsps boredom
  • 1 large cup time
  • 1 cauldron (could use Mum’s enormous saucepan)
  • 1 magic wand (twig from garden will do)
  • 4 cups mischief (concentrated)
  • 2 tbsps sulking (left to marinate over night)
  • 2 bats eyes
  • 1 tube toothpaste
  • 1 lizard’s tail
  • 6 rat’s claws
  • 8 toad toes
  • Goo from snail trail
  • 2 cockroach feelers
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup lemon juice
  • 2 wings of gold dragon
  • 1 pinch of cunning
  • Magic (plenty)

If you got told off last night
Got sent to bed 
Then they turned off the light
I’m sure you imagined the things you would do
If you had the chance to make some
Magic brew…



I’m sure you were sulking the entire next day
How to get them back?
Then you thought of a way!
You took out the cauldron
And when you had time
You added the following
And recited this rhyme…



*Here is my mischief, need plenty of that
*Here go the claws off that ugly, big rat
*In goes the next thing, 1 tube of toothpaste
(It’s not very magical but has a minty fresh taste)
*I put in the baking powder so my mixture will rise
*Then toss in the yucky, green, scary bat’s eyes
*Add in the goo of a shiny snail trail
*And shiver from fright as I add lizard’s tail
*The cockroach I crushed has 2 feelers, add those
*Then next I throw in 2 big, fat, green toad toes
*My potion is sending up purple smoke rings
*So that’s when I add 2 small, gold dragon wings
*A pinch of my cunning, with lemon juice too,
*The last two ingredients add zing to the brew
*Then I take out my wand and with feeling I say,

‘Magic brew, magic brew, work your magic today!
Bubble and simmer and when tasting time’s here
Send smoke out their noses while I giggle and jeer,’

They’ll start to see fairies and they will say then,

 ‘I’ll never send you to bed early again!’

© 2017 

Maria L

28 thoughts on “Children’s Poetry #7

Add yours

  1. Wonderful Super. Who hasn’t felt this way at least once as a child. I will save this recipe for my grandson. It will make so much earlier on him, he will have much more time to us it. This was an amazing story. Thank you for sharing.🌹💐❤️🌵

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a an evil concoction, thoroughly mixed, sure to deliver it’s magic, maybe a sprinkle of Tasmanian Devil’s earwax, just to be certain…. a beautifully imaginative brew/article, I’m smiling all the way to my bedroom….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

