Children’s Poetry #4

This is a very special one.

This was the first ever poem I wrote.

I had no idea I was able to write poetry until this one just walked itself into my head. 

I don’t know where it came from. But it’s very precious to me. 

I always thought it was a children’s poem, albeit rather dark. It’s also quite lyrical, it’s slightly epic  … 

I’ll let you all decide its category. 

In true George Lucas style- I wrote a prequel a couple of years later! To be released here in the near future…

Deep breath…

Ok, enjoy 🌺


Sarah’s Soul

The woods were dark and misty, 

Little Sarah was afraid.

She wore no coat to warm her,

Just the scarf her Mother made.

Why was she out alone, you ask,

On such a fearsome night?

‘T’was here she was to come to learn 

The Mystery of Flight. 

She’d fled her house at midnight 

To meet the Dark Man here. 

A secret he would teach her

That no one else could hear.

“I’ll teach you how to fly, ” he’d said

“You’ll learn of wondrous things,

Just come prepared and don’t be scared,

You, too will soon have wings .”

Oh, how she longed to learn to fly,

To flee from all her foes;

He’d promised her this freedom,

The Dark Man who no one knows.

So on she went

Through forest dark, 

No moon did shine that night.

The wind blew fierce, icy cold

And Sarah shook with fright. 

She pressed on through the blackness,

For this was the darkest part.

She thought red eyes were watching her… 

And fear clutched at her heart.

On and on she walked until

She saw him standing there.

Tall and caped, he watched her

With his penetrating stare.

“I’m here,” she whispered, trembling 

“Will you teach me, sir?” she asked

But he simply stared  right through her

As the next few minutes passed…

“Patience is the key,” he said 

And velvet was his voice. 

“I’ll teach you what you wish to know

But you must make a choice.”

“A choice? “she said, “What do you mean?”

And this was his reply…

“Your Soul is all I ask

If I’m to show  you how to fly.”

“My Soul! “she cried,  “But I cannot!

For surely I will perish!”

So tempting was his offer-

But her Soul was hers to cherish.

“I cannot, sir, give you my Soul,

Without it, I will die.

If that’s the choice I have to make,

I’ll not learn how to fly. “

“So very brave, young Sarah,”

Said the Dark Man, voice so deep.

“You choose not to have the gift of Flight, 

Your Soul instead to keep?”

She stood alone there, thinking

What it was that she should choose…

For flying was salvation  

But her Soul she’d surely lose.

And as she thought she realised 

If she didn’t learn to fly, 

She’d not escape her foes

So was the price really too high?

“Sir, I have decided

To accept your gift of Flight. 

My Soul I give you freely

On this dark and icy night.

In the pitch black, midnight darkness 

A smile lingered on his face…

“Follow me, young Sarah

As we leave this cursΓ¨d place.”

And with her words, she’d sealed her Fate,

Her Soul was hers no more.

And as they walked the Emptiness

Did chill her to the core.

They reached a small, dark clearing, 

Then he turned to her and said,

“Erase all thoughts, Young Sarah, 

Clear the cobwebs from your head.”

She did as he had told her,

And as she stood in fear…

He placed his hand upon her face, 

“Be not afraid, my dear. 

For as you stand here trembling, 

I pass to you this Gift.

Your feet will soon not touch the ground

And through the air you’ll lift.”

And as his words raced through her mind,

She did indeed take flight. 

And through the trees she travelled 

Ever higher, through the night.

She soared through clouds and passed the stars, 

Far from the world below…

And on the ground, he stood and watched, 

His eyes a deep red glow…

It was his time to take her now,

This precious little child. 

And as he spun his evil spell,

The wind blew loud and wild.

“It’s time, my little Sarah,”

He whispered to the night. 

“Your freedom now is over-

I take back my Gift of Flight.”

She felt herself grow heavy,

No longer like a bird…

And all at once, it dawned on her,

He’d gone back on his word.

She fell and kept on falling…

And her heart was fit to break…

She had no Soul. 

She could not Fly.

She’d made the worst mistake. 

Soon she’d know of Nothing,

She’d not see another day.

And as she fell, the Dark Man 

Held her Soul and walked away.

Β© 2017 Maria L


46 thoughts on “Children’s Poetry #4

Add yours

  1. Child’s poem?? Are you joking? I would have pee’d my pants….in fact I think I just did!! Great writing though M. Much talent to be extracted I do believe. Well done girl 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh Maria, This is superb, I’m a big kid at heart, and you had me enthralled all the way through, following every tiny footstep of your unfortunate little heroine, congratulations, a great tale….

    Liked by 2 people

      1. I understand completely, I posted my most precious and heartfelt poem not long ago, and somehow afterwards, I had an inner feeling of relief, coupled with joy, that I’d shared my personal legacy.

        Liked by 2 people

  3. Wow. It’s beautifully crafted, the diction is simple and delightful, and I can see this as an older’s children’s brand of poetry! I feel like this would be geared toward that age-group that isn’t “little” and not quite “pre-teen.” Does that make sense? πŸ™‚πŸ˜
    I am simply in awe of it! Your poetry may be my new favourite thing! Aaaand it’s been a reason and inspiration for my attempting poetry once again. You’re the best!! πŸ’«πŸ’œ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, thank you! That’s what I thought, but what do we call that category?!
      Thank you so much for this amazing comment, it means a great deal to me 😊😊😊
      Right! Where is this poetry of which you speak? We’d all like to see it please!
      You’re so brilliant . Did I tell you you’re one of your faves around here. .? Think I mentioned it 😊😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, exactly!!! It’s like…do we subdivide children’s into “young children” and “children” like young adult etc? I don’t know! πŸ˜³πŸ˜…
        You are most welcome!! I try to be awesome (BAHAHAHAHA!!! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚) okay I’ll stop. πŸ˜…
        So you know that dreadful little problem of mine? Of me writing like eight weeks in advance? 😳😌 Wellllllll this poetry I speak of is a ways out yet. I do want to share it though!!!! I have this awesome (if one can promote one’s stuff) I wrote in college and though it’s not British I have thought of sharing it. Break the chain and all that jazz.
        I think it’s fair to say we’re both one of each other’s faves. Still, I appreciate it all the same! So long as you know you’re one of mine! β˜ΊοΈβ˜ΊοΈπŸ’œ

        Liked by 2 people

  4. First ever poem you wrote?! Are you kidding, how come you never realized this aweeesome gift with words you’ve before? I’m very very very impressed ❀ loved the whole thing till the end. (tbh, that Dark Man gives me this eerie feeling as if he's a vampire) πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It floew so wel you have a great sense for patameter, has a conflict, a lesson and a twist. At first I interpreted flight as to flee or run away and you still could. bottom line you made something compelling. I don’t read much poetry but this has Robert frost kind of flow in some parts. I am impressed. Bottom line, I am impressed. Bravo and may continue make more beautiful things.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

