Children’s Poetry #2

I’m sharing a slightly spooooooky one with you today,  which isn’t really like me, but it managed to pop out of my head anyway.

The reason I’m publishing  two posts today is ALL CARL’S FAULT for egging me on. Terrible influence. 

You can visit his whimsical adventures in poetic delight through this secret door.

Secondly, this is a special dedication to my friend Linda, whose blog, if you haven’t visited already (seriously,  where have you been?) is a gem and you can pop over there through this interdimensional portal.

She requested  a partner poem for Everyday Magic and funnily enough, I had one.

Enjoy.

In the Shadows 


Tiptoe softly,
Make no sound.

Things lurk in shadows

All around.

Make no noise

So they won’t hear,

They’re coming soon-

They’ll smell your fear.

In the corner 

Of the room

Don’t look their way,

You’ll meet your doom.

If the floorboards 

Start to creak-

Stop

Don’t move 

And don’t dare speak. 

They’ll slither out

Of their dark lair,

And try to catch you 

Unaware…

They make no sound,

So lock your door.

Because they’ll get you-

That’s for sure. 

© 2017

Maria L

17 thoughts on “Children’s Poetry #2

Add yours

  1. I love it! When are you going to get started on finding an illustrator for your book? And thanks so much for the shout out! You are a dear of the highest order! Ok, this one is for you and even though I didn’t mean it to sound so demandy, I guess I just want to see more from you. ❤️ ❤️💕❤️💕❤️ ❤️

    Go forth and write, and write some more

    You promised us, there’s more in store

    Write long, write short, best yet write both

    Write well, write often, you swore an oath

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’m laughing so much right now! 😂😂😂😂😂😂Oh my gosh, that is the best thing I’ve heard all day!!!!
      And what a talented, sneaky poet you are madame!
      Still laughing
      ..hang on…
      I kind of have one in mind…ish.
      Okay, okay, I’ll get on it!
      Lots of love to yoooooooouuuuu X

      Liked by 2 people

  2. A really spooooooooky one, but it is beautiful. I love it.💕💕 Now you’ve inspired me to do this little one here😄😄 Check it:

    Tippy toes
    On the floor,
    Heard a knock
    On the door,
    Opened it
    And looked outside,
    Nothing
    But my little ride.😉😉😄😄

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

