Guest In Jest : First Post by me! superwifeandmummy

I am so pleased and excited to present my first guest post,  thanks to the lovely Linda over at:

https://mainepaperpusher.wordpress.com

You must check other her hilarious and sunshine filled blog and please do take part in his truly wonderful guest posting opportunity called Guest in Jest. The rules are easy and fun, all outlined right below my post so just click the link and go and have a giggle!

I’m very proud and honoured to be the first in this fabulous idea and I’m looking forward to loads more giggle inducing posts.

Go on, click, clickety click!

Source: Guest In Jest superwifeandmummy

Vitae in Verse

Write a guest post,

make sure that it’s funny.

Well, I’ll give you funny,

on that put some money!

I’m writing in verse

because some may not know –

I am quite the poet,

as good poets go.

I’m a blogger, a mummy

and a hot, gorgeous wife-

Enjoying my toddler – filled,

Wonderful life.

I grew up in Birmingham (NOT Alabama)

The one that’s in England

and a real snoozorama.

I then moved to Cyprus,

The Island of Love-

And cursed and bemoaned

to the heavens above.

At first I was glum,

as teenagers are,

But school soon gave me choir,

theatre and Literature.

Uni then followed,

back in the UK ,

And I blossomed in singing

and performing all day.

My writing

and sharp analytical mind,

grew and became

of the flourishing kind.

Soon I moved back

to the scorching, hot clime ,

where I sang and I wrote,

and perfected my rhymes.

A few years passed,

I thought I was lost,

Drowning in sorrow,

Betrayal, mistrust.

Then out of the blue

(clichéd metaphors aside)

My future stepped out of the Larnaca* tides.

My hubby- to – be

Swept me right off my feet –

A truly heavenly,

Serendipitous meet.

Fast forward a few, well 13 great years

– the passing of which

brings me almost to tears.

The news I was preggy

came sent from above,

We took flight to England,

Emboldened with love.

Our beautiful Angel

was born shortly after,

and simply keeps filling us

with love and laughter.

So what shall I do?

I thought

(amid milk and nappies )

That will nurture my talent and keep my brain snappy?

“A blog!” cried the Muses!

“To splurt out your words,

Your Thoughts, rantings and poems

Will draw in the herds!”

So here I am now,

blogging away,

loving my family

more everyday.

Writing for me

and for your sheer delight,

And I think that these Verses

spoke for me, just right.

 

Love to all!

Maria (The Super Wife and Mummy )  superwifeandmummy

*Larnaca is a seafront town in Cyprus where I met my husband

*************************************************************************************

Please join us in our Guest in Jest series.

Here are the rules:

  1. Tell us a bit about yourself, including where you are from.
  2. Give us some info about your blog.  Make sure to add a link to it. Write up something amusing.  It doesn’t have to be “laugh out loud funny,” but a bit of humor would be great.
  3. Pictures optional, but encouraged.
  4. The post can be one that has been posted before.
  5. The last rule is the most important one.  If you don’t like the previous rules, then write whatever you want.  🙂

Send your submissions to mainepaperpusher@yahoo.com and I’ll get you scheduled in order of submission.

The piece can be anything that is humorous.  A story, a recollection, even something as simple as a joke.

The featured image was created by Silas at  The Diary of a Weird Teen Boy  in Verse

46 thoughts on “Guest In Jest : First Post by me! superwifeandmummy

Add yours

      1. Thanks. Sometimes I’m such an idiot that I understood that the whole idea was yours and that mainepaperpusher posted it and the poem was the intro to the instructions :-\ can you imagine? I’m really sorry

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Hmmm ok, but I’m going to be brief because you are a fellow blogger and not my student.
        Your English is very good. Good vocabulary and some good use of expressive language. I, of course know you are not native as you do make minor errors, such as dropping articles (the,a, etc- can I guess you are possibly from India?) And just some minor grammatical errors which I obviously can’t think of now because I’ve read a few posts and can’t recall all of them! But , your English for a NON NATIVE speaker is excellent .
        😊

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes it’s fantastic. Would love to read more of your poems. I’ve written a few poems before but not in story telling mode. That is really skilful. Haha! Is that a challenge? It may take me some time. 😂😂

        Liked by 2 people

      2. The Guest in Jest post doesn’t have to be a poem though, just anything funny so that’s why I thought it would be hilarious in a Yorkshire accent! 😂
        I may be posting more now that I’ve done one.. 😊😊

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I was about to send you a comment to say thank you again for letting me be the first in this brilliant idea.
      I don’t think I’m funny enough ťo more. I’m just trying to encourage others to take part! If I think of something I’ll send it but I think I peaked early 😂

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

